Okay, so after the results show this week, I felt I had to write something about it. I know I’ve ever so slightly touched on it before, but what is wrong with America? Do they understand the voting process? (Well, the whole George Bush thing didn’t turn out so well, so maybe we’ll just leave it at that.)

Michael Lynche, or “Big Mike” as he’s fondly known on the show, in my opinion, was probably one of the favourites to win the show. Now, his performance was alright during the Top 9, not his best, but definitely not the worst. According to America, though, he was one of the three worst performances of the night, along with Aaron Kelly and Andrew Garcia (see blue link above if you don’t know who they are). It was then whittled down to Mike and Andrew, after Aaron was told he was safe, followed by Andrew, leaving Mike with the least votes and facing elimination from the show. He “sung for survival” and the judges decided they would use their “Judge’s Save” on him, and he’d be back in the competition.

This left me with mixed feelings. Should he have been there in the first place? No. Should he have been saved by the judges? I’m not sure. I’m glad he was, because I liked him, but now the save has gone, anyone could go. And there are far more marketable acts left to the mercy of the public, who clearly can’t vote correctly.

Back in the semi-finals, three strong contenders for the title went out before the Top 12, and last week, Didi Benami was voted off, to my utter disgust. This leaves one more point. And that point is Tim Urban. He is like the “Jedward” of X Factor on American Idol. He isn’t extremely talented in the singing area, but girls will vote for him because he’s something to look at (although Jedward were not). He shouldn’t have made the Top 12, and definitely not this far in the competition. How long will he stay in for? I don’t know. And that’s what scares me, as two people are definitely eliminated from next week’s show.

