Now if you know me well, you’ll know that I am an avid lover of snow. I wish on every occasion that it would fall, and to settle with several feet of it everywhere. Being in England, that is not likely to happen, especially in the South. But to get snow on Friday 18th December, I was not pleased. It should have arrived a week later in time for Christmas. I checked the train schedule and found that the 4 trains from Midday til 2pm were actually cancelled going to London Waterloo due to the snow. Travelling by train was the only means of getting there so this is where silent panic settled in. We decided to leave it til later, hoping that trains would run again. Thankfully they did, and we took the 4:31pm train to Waterloo. We arrived just over an hour later and after a wrong choice of entrance and a broken lift, we got on the Tube and packed against the walls ready for the half hour journey.

We got out of the station and passed the loud ticket touts chanting “TICKETS FOR PARAMORE, BUY OR SELL!” and slid all the way to the venue, Wembley Arena, which was literally about 2 minutes away from the station. After buying merchandise and a massive queue for the toilets, we sat down at 7pm in our seats, ready for the first band to play at 7:15pm. Nicely timed, if I do say so myself! Now, Now Every Children were up first, and I wasn’t too fussed in all honesty. I listened to all the bands before the gig, and wasn’t impressed with the first two bands. NNEC, however, were a pleasant surprise live. They were much better than what I’d heard previously and I really enjoyed their set. The crowd weren’t so enthusiastic though, and it was evident that most people were only there to see You Me At Six and, obviously, Paramore.

Although NNEC were pretty good live, the inevitable comparison to Paramore would come about, and I’m torn whether to  jump on that band wagon right now. There were differences, albeit slight ones, between them. But female vocalists in a rock band don’t escape the comparison. Whatever your decision, Now, Now Every Children have a long way to go if they want to even come close to the success of Paramore. Paper Route were the second support band of the night, and again they started off pretty good. The first couple of songs were really good and I was on my way to being converted to them. Unfortunately after those first couple of songs, I was a little bored with them, everything started to sound too similar. The crowd were barely enthusiastic, just about getting moving, but no one was standing up in the seated area.

But the band weren’t too phased, saying that they’ve saved the best song for last, playing it, then going on to play one last song. Tragically I cannot remember the first song’s name, which is actually a shame because it was my favourite. ‘Carousel’ was the other track that stood out. They started out bright, but faded into boredom as it went on. Most people were too fussed on the arrival of You Me At Six. The next quarter of an hour was the longest of them all, anticipating the set of one of my favourite up-and-coming English rock bands. The backdrop came down, and everybody screamed. Then nothing happened again for another 5 minutes. Then the lights went out and everybody screamed again. It was official now, You Me At Six had arrived. And it couldn’t have been more welcomed.

Screams continued to echo around the venue as the lead singer, Josh Franceschi, said Hello to his adoring fans. As soon as the stage was set, and the first song, “Kiss And Tell”, started, we were on our feet, as were many people in the seated areas. The concert really kicked off and everyone was moving. You didn’t need to be in standing to realise how much the crowd were moving. Many people were being pushed about down there. Aside from the slight violent feel in standing, everything was great. “Jealous Minds Think Alike” began, and I’m going to say it for all of these songs so I don’t have to repeat myself. Each time a song started, the crowd would scream like mad. They went on to play “If I Were In Your Shoes”, “Save It For The Bedroom” (one of my favourite songs) and “The Consequence” (A new single from their upcoming album).

The next, and penultimate song, was the highlight of their set in my opinion. “Always Attract”, on their album, is a highlight for me anyway, so bringing it to their live set couldn’t really go wrong for me. Inviting his sister, who was the mystery singer to the song on Take Off Your Colours,  on stage to sing her vocals was a touch of brilliance, added with Franceschi asking us to “Take out your phone lights and sway” made the atmosphere something else. Looking around the arena and seeing all the different colours moving backwards and forwards everywhere was special. Closing their set with “Finders Keepers”, You Me At Six would have been leaving the stage with huge grins all over their faces. I’m sure they’ve converted fans from this concert, if they didn’t already have them on their side in the first place.

And then they arrive. It was time for Paramore. Another lengthy wait before they finally arrived on stage, with the chanting of “Paramore” and various attempts at getting a Mexican wave started around the venue (which, may I add, was eventually successful). The lights go down, and bellowing screams (from myself, may I shamefully admit) were all that could be heard as we were all about to witness the greatest show Paramore had ever given. They played their “Brand New Eyes Intro” that they have played at the start of every show since their latest album came out. It really stepped up a notch two minutes later when they started the intro to “Ignorance”. With the crowd chanting in time with the “HEY” after the lyric ‘We’re not the same’ in the chorus, you know you’re in for a good night of crowd involvement.

Twilight fans (don’t get me started on Twilight) were in for a treat, as “I Caught Myself” began. I’ve never really been fond of this song so I wasn’t positive on the words. It didn’t matter as the chorus was easy to pick up on. Playing classics and new songs “That’s What You Get”, “Looking Up”, “Crushcrushcrush” with the crowd seductively whispering crush back at Hayley and the band, and “Turn It Off”, we came across something quite unusual. Hayley produced a letter and said they wanted to invite someone to the stage. Glares and comments passed everyone’s lips at the person or persons who got to go on stage. A minute later and all those glares were exchanged with tears, open mouths and gasps as Liam May asks his girlfriend Leona to marry him. A huge intake of breath and gasps around the arena should really have sucked in all of the people on stage.

This led onto the song “The Only Exception”, a love song fitting for the occasion. If I had more oestrogen in my system, I probably would have cried. But I did not, many people did though. It was definitely a significant moment in the set. One of many. They then went into a classic from their very first album, “Pressure”. Jeremy, the bassist, managed to flip on stage, which was something impressive. “Careful” and “Where The Lines Overlap” followed next, two songs from their latest album, both going down so well. Twilight fans got their chance to squeal again as the “Decode” riff started. So many girly screams filled the arena that only dogs could hear them at one point. I do like ‘Decode’, I really do. I just hate twilight. It’s good press for Paramore and all, but Paramore (as I’ve mentioned before) DO NOT = Twilight.

Then came the moment that beats all moments. The best ever part of any Paramore, or any, concert I have ever been to. They played the song “My Heart” from their very first CD. No other date did they play this. It was just for us. Josh Farro, the lead guitarist, did the screams during the song, and if you were near me, you would have heard me squeal “OH MY GOD” like a little girl. During the song, Hayley said that “This is the best moment of my life” and everyone believed her. We all could have screamed back those same words right at her at that moment. It was one that I’ll never forget. Ever. We then joined in with her singing “Whoa”. Just a simple melodic phrase that we sang in unison. Everyone felt the atmosphere in the arena. You don’t understand how intense it was if you weren’t present. They then went crazy with an instrumental afterwards.

It was incredible. Words can’t describe how I was feeling after that song. They then went offstage, to come back on and give us a three-song encore. On a chair, acoustic guitars in hand, “Misguided Ghosts was played. We were instructed to take out our “Cell Phone lighters” and without question we all did. No one would disobey Hayley Williams after what just happened. It was followed by “Misery Business” which was incredibly well received. Finally, the latest single “Brick By Boring Brick” where confetti poured out of the top of the arena onto the crowd. All the bands came on and bowed and we were all in awe at what had just happened. With the crowd singing along to the “Ba Da Ba’s” at the end of the chorus, there was nothing bad in the night whatsoever. It was just amazing.

I shall not bore you with the details of getting back, as they were far from interesting compared to the concert itself (even though I spoke about getting there in the first place). I have no doubt that this was the best gig I’ve ever been to in my life. It’s definitely getting 10/10 in my book. I would give it 100 if I could. But there is no such thing as 100/10.

Finally, I would like to say that all the pictures in this post were of Kimberley Collins’ taking. Please go and check out her photos here.

