With their success and fan base growing with every year, Fall Out Boy’s fifth studio album was being eagerly awaited by hundreds of thousands across the globe. You never know what sound they’ll come out with, as they’ve matured and improved over the years and with the follow up success of Infinity On High, i’m sure the boys were feeling confident of their abilities in the mainstream. The album was released on December 14th here, and I was eager to see what I’d think of the album. My first impressions, I’m not going to lie, were a little disappointed. I think that’s only because I had loved the previous albums so much, that this felt like a step back. As you listen to it more, you appreciate it’s maturity and charm.

Disloyal Order Of Water Buffaloes is first and straight away you can notice the difference in albums. It’s a different kind of rock, more actual rock than alternative. The lyrics are also genius, as usual.

I Don’t Care was the first single and peaked in the charts at #33. Rather unimpressive in comparison to previous songs, it just shows you how the industry has changed in the last year or so. The song has different styles throughout and it’s definitely a better choice for a first single than on the previous album.

She’s My Winona is the next song and was the fifth and final single from the album. The “oh”s at the beginning are really energetic and the harmonies in the chorus work really well.

America’s Suitehearts follows and is one of my favourites off the album. As the fourth single, it had a lot to live up to, as the singles previously haven’t taken off so well. Unfortunately, nor did this at it charted at a  low #76. The song itself isn’t the usual anthem we’re used to from a Fall Out Boy hit, but it definitely sticks in your head, and that’s what is important.

Headfirst Slide Into Coopestown On A Bad Bet is next, and is the only real long, stupid name. This song never really grabs your attention as much, I like the way it changes in dynamics, but that’s about it that I feel is worth mentioning. It was released as the second single.

The (Shipped) Gold Standard follows and is definitely one of the better songs on the album. Stump brings in his falsetto during the chorus which is always a joy to listen to. The bridge mixes up the tempo and style of the song, and I really love how they’ve done that.

(Coffee’s For Closers) is next and has a great drum and strings intro. The song doesn’t really get started until the chorus, where it explodes into life and reminds you of the “old” Fall Out Boy-type choruses that we used to know and love.

What A Catch, Donnie follows and is a great song. Towards the end as Stump sings the chorus, in the background, various members of bands on the Fueled By Ramon record label sing previous choruses of Fall Out Boy songs previously released. It’s a brilliant idea and it works really well.

27 is next and brings a nice up-tempo feel to it. “I want it so bad I’d shoot the sunshine into my veins” is an example of the lyrics which are a little drug-related throughout the song, but still shows you that they’ve still got the lyrical presence in them.

Tiffany Blews follows and I enjoy the “oh”s that stump does yet again. This song has a slight bluesy feel to it which I enjoy. I prefer the second part of the chorus to the first as it has that extra dimension that the first part lacks.

w.a.m.s. is next and another track filled with brilliant lyrics and a killer chorus, I love the sound to it. At the end of the song, there’s a little rhythm and blues/jazz feel as Stump has an acapella jam with claps and foot stomps.

20 Dollar Nose Bleed follows and Fall Out Boy have definitely left some of the better songs to the end, as you get a brassy ska feel to the song, with Stump’s vocals sounding very gospel-like with the backing singers joining in to the feel of it. That’s a good thing by the way.

West Coast Smoker is the final song on the album. I love the part where they sing about the father, son and holy ghost. Stump’s ending the album in style reminding us not to forget about his brilliant vocals.

Overall, Folie à deux is an okay album. And I think i’m being generous with it. After listening to it a few more times, I don’t dislike it as much as did, but it hasn’t improved significantly for me to love it. There are a few good songs, but I just feel it’s a step backwards from their two previous albums. As the album ended in style, I’m giving it an 6/10.

